The Association has 37 members (universities, university colleges and university art colleges). The highest decisive body is the General Assembly, comprising of representatives from all member institutions.

The Board, currently consists of seven rectors and one university director, the Presidium, consists of the chairman, vice-chairman and secretary general and the secretariat consists of the Secretary General and staff.

Decisions concerning the member institutions are recommendations. The statutes contain rules for voting (each member having one, two, three or four votes). In a few exceptional cases the Assembly has taken a majority decision, using these rules. However, the Association in most cases attempts to take decisions by consensus or by an informal voting technique.